CRISTIANA ROMITO

« You mustn’t be afraid, because that’s how you grow as a person »

Brother and sister working together, she in the dining room and he in the kitchen: the type of duo you don’t often come across in the gastronomic world! Cristiana and Niko Romito masterfully captain the Reale restaurant, located in Castel di Sangro in Abruzzo, in the heart of an ancient monastery, which also houses a few stylish and refined bedrooms. Cristiana is both manager of the establishment and maître d’, and discreetly looks out for the well-being of those who come and enjoy Niko’s cuisine.

Completely self-taught, her expertise was truly recognised in 2019 when she was awarded the Mauviel 1830 Prize for the World’s Best Dining Room Manager by Les Grandes Tables du Monde. Looking back over her career, Cristiana shares her perspective on dining room service, team training and the challenges faced by women in the industry.

© Brambilla Serrani

LIKE A SPONGE

Nothing seemed to predestine Cristiana to her current profession: as a child, she imagined herself working as a translator for the European Union. But when her younger brother Niko took over their father’s business, a well-known bakery trattoria located in Rivisondoli – some fifteen kilometres from their current establishment – her plans changed: “I didn’t hesitate long before telling him I was going to do it with him. I couldn’t leave him alone!” she recalls with emotion. It was just the two of them at first.

« I handled everything that wasn’t cooking: service, of course, but also housekeeping, overseeing the wine list and accounting. »

Cristiana Romito’s path

  • 2003: Conversion of the family trattoria of Rivisondoli into a gastronomic restaurant with her brother Niko Romito as chef.

  • 2006: The Reale is awarded its first Michelin star.

  • 2011: The Reale moves to Castel di Sangro, within the Casadonna establishment.

  • 2013: The restaurant is awarded its third Michelin star.

  • 2019: Mauviel 1830 Prize for the World’s Best Dining Room Manager awarded by Les Grandes Tables du Monde

Niko, self-taught just like her, decided to steer away from a traditional approach, cutting the number of tables and focusing on signature cuisine: “20 years ago, in a village of just 400, without social networks, it was far more complicated to stand out!”
When recognition and stars came their way, they decided to move to Casadonna, 11 years after opening.

« Moving a small restaurant to this monastery, which is ten times bigger, was particularly difficult. We had to rethink our whole organisation, get help… I realised that one of the essential qualities required in this job is a sharp sense of observation. I’m a bit like a sponge: when I do things I make them my own, which then helps me do things my way. »

“With Niko, we now have 20 years of experience as catering professionals, but we have so much more as brother and sister! I am always the first to taste a dish, because my palate is a stand in for the customer’s, but also because I remember all of Niko’s previous works.” Hints of her primary vocation as a translator remain, as she makes it her mission to share the meaning and philosophy of his brother’s cuisine with their guests, just like an interpreter would.

MANAGEMENT BASED ON TRUST

Casadonna now has 40 employees for both the restaurant and hotel, where the atmosphere is just as serene. Cristiana’s way of transmitting the establishment’s spirit to newcomers is rather unusual: “Within two months, they must understand who we are and know how to do everything. Versatility is essential here, because we don’t have a pyramidal hierarchical structure: once trained, you must be able to serve the wines, but also answer the phone and explain the other projects we are working on, be it at the bakery or one of our establishments in Rome or Milan.”

This versatility brings a sense of belonging within the team, and confers a unique fluidity to the customers’ experience.

« Even our newest trainee has to be able to do anything, from the moment I feel they’re ready. Our management style is based on trust: everyone here acts as if it were their own restaurant. »

For service, Cristiana relies on her sensitivity for observation and deduction: “In a three-star restaurant, fatigue can be more intellectual than physical because of the degree of attention we have to pay to our customers. We have to be in perfect harmony with our client, anticipate and meet all their expectations. It’s tricky to gauge who wants to chat, who would rather be left alone… Sometimes you have to understand that a person’s reserve comes from the fact that they are intimidated: in that case, a single word can liven them up, make them smile and enjoy their evening in a completely different way! For example we had a young couple here recently, and they were whispering to each other: I went over to their table and exchanged with them at a normal volume to encourage them to do the same.

Our job is not only about skills, or knowing how to put words on Niko’s cooking, but also to have an eye for everything, especially what might be hard to see…” She compares her daily work to theatre, taking part in a semi-improvised show that changes every day… because every day brings new customers! A tightrope walker’s job, which calls for flexibility every step of the way.

EXPERIENCE IS THE BEST WAY TO LEARN
Being self-taught and an expert multitasker, she is all the more able to lead by example and pass on her skills to her team: “It was while training our staff that I understood the value of what I had learned, going through all these steps on my own. I can teach them how to wash 1,000 glasses because I’ve actually done it myself! Experience is the best way to learn. There are no more or less noble tasks in hospitality: for the well-being of our customers and the smooth running of our establishments, versatility is essential, at all levels.”

From her mother, an English teacher, she has perhaps inherited great teaching skills and so much more, because for the young people she trains: “I give them a soul, I give them everything so that they can grow, but this requires great openness and a genuine willingness to learn. I am not looking for interchangeable people, like mere numbers; I am looking for souls, real people.”

A WOMAN RESTAURATEUR

After 20 years in the business, one of her great regrets is that she has only trained three other women due to a lack of female candidates.

« In the collective imagination, we see – and wrongly so – the maître d’ of a starred restaurant as a masculine figure. Even the profession’s title is masculine, which does not help women project themselves in this role! »

This is what makes her Mauviel 1830 Prize for the World’s Best Dining Room Manager awarded by Les Grandes Tables du Monde even more special.

« It is the recognition of many sacrifices, a great honour that has left me with intense emotions because as a woman, it hasn’t been easy to make a place for myself in this profession. »

She recalls people not even mentioning her first name, tersely addressing her with a “ah, you are the sister?” and she replying with a polite smile: “Hello, I am Cristiana Romito.”

While sacrifices must be made (holidays, tough schedules), they are outweighed by tremendous fulfilment. There is scarcely any woman in this profession because it represents a real lifestyle choice, with very few role models, not to mention motherhood, “which is also a team and organisational responsibility, where everyone needs to coordinate, men and fathers too, of course!”

But for things to change, Cristiana calls for “courage and curiosity” rather than following traditional pathways. “You must not be afraid to be afraid, and you absolutely need to get out of your comfort zone, because that’s how you grow as a person and find your place!”

Among her female role models, it’s no wonder to find Audrey Hepburn, who she admires for her discreet elegance and sincerity of style.

Cristiana, through her hard work and desire to build an establishment in her image, has cultivated the elegant courage of self-affirmation, putting her sensitivity at the service of others.


error:

CRISTIANA ROMITO

« Il ne faut pas avoir peur car c’est ainsi qu’on grandit »

Une sœur et un frère, elle en salle et lui en cuisine : c’est un duo que l’on croise peu dans l’univers gastronomique !
Cristiana et Niko Romito règnent sur le restaurant Reale, installé à Castel di Sangro dans les Abruzzes, au cœur d’un ancien monastère qui abrite également quelques chambres aussi épurées que raffinées.

Tout à la fois manager de l’établissement et maître d’hôtel, Cristiana veille discrètement sur le bien-être de ceux qui s’accordent la joie de découvrir la cuisine de Niko.

© Brambilla Serrani

COMME UNE ÉPONGE

Rien ne semblait prédestiner Cristiana à son métier actuel : enfant, elle s’imaginait travailler comme traductrice pour l’Union Européenne. Mais lorsque son frère cadet, Niko, choisit de reprendre l’établissement de son père, une boulangerie-trattoria réputée des Abruzzes située à Rivisondoli – une quinzaine de kilomètres de leur établissement actuel –, ses projets évoluent : « Je n’ai pas hésité longtemps avant de lui dire que j’allais le faire avec lui. Je n’allais pas le laisser tout seul ! » se souvient-elle avec émotion. Au début, ils ne sont que tous les deux.

« Je m’occupais seule de tout ce qui n’était pas cuisine : le service en salle, certes, mais aussi le ménage, en passant par la carte des vins et la comptabilité. »

Parcours de Cristiana Romito

  • 2003 : Transformation de la trattoria familiale de Rivisondoli en restaurant gastronomique dont le chef est son frère, Niko Romito.

  • 2006 : Reale obtient sa première étoile au guide Michelin.

  • 2011 : Déménagement du Reale à Castel di Sangro, dans l’établissement Casadonna.

  • 2013 : Obtention de la troisième étoile au guide Michelin.

  • 2019 : Prix Mauviel 1830 du Meilleur Directeur de Salle Les Grandes Tables du Monde.

Niko, autodidacte tout comme elle, décide de s’éloigner du modèle traditionnel, en réduisant le nombre de tables et en optant pour une cuisine d’auteur : « il y a 20 ans, dans un village de 400 habitants, sans les réseaux sociaux, c’était plus compliqué de se faire remarquer et de tenir bon ! » Les étoiles et la reconnaissance arrivant, ils déménagent 11 ans après leur ouverture à Casadonna.

« Transférer un petit restaurant dans ce monastère dix fois plus grand a été difficile. Il a fallu repenser toute notre organisation, nous faire aider… c’est à cette occasion que j’ai compris que l’une des qualités indispensables à ce métier était le sens de l’observation. J’agis un peu comme une éponge : faire les choses permet de me les approprier, pour pouvoir ensuite les faire à ma manière. »

« Avec Niko, nous avons désormais 20 ans d’expérience en tant que professionnels de la restauration, mais nous en avons beaucoup plus en tant que frère et sœur ! Je demeure toujours la première à goûter un plat, parce que mon palais représente celui du client, mais il a aussi en mémoire tout le travail de Niko. » Finalement, sa vocation première reste présente, puisque l’une de ses missions est de transmettre le sens et la philosophie de la cuisine de son frère aux convives… comme le fait un interprète.

UN MANAGEMENT DE LA CONFIANCE

Casadonna compte désormais 40 salariés, pour le restaurant et l’hôtel, où règne la même sérénité. Afin de transmettre l’esprit du lieu aux nouveaux venus, la méthode de Cristiana est peu commune : « en deux mois, ils doivent comprendre qui nous sommes et savoir tout faire. La polyvalence est fondamentale ici, car nous n’avons pas de structure hiérarchique pyramidale : une fois formés, il faut savoir aussi bien servir les vins que répondre au téléphone et expliquer les autres projets sur lesquels nous travaillons, que ce soit sur la boulangerie ou l’un de nos établissements à Rome ou Milan. »

La polyvalence développe le sentiment d’appartenance côté équipe, et crée pour les clients une fluidité dans l’expérience rare.

« Même le dernier stagiaire arrivé est capable de tout faire, une fois que j’ai estimé qu’il était prêt. Nous avons un management de la confiance : ici, tout le monde agit comme si c’était son propre restaurant. »

Pour le service, Cristiana met sa sensibilité au service de l’observation et de la déduction : « Dans un trois étoiles, la fatigue est parfois plus intellectuelle que physique, à cause du degré d’attention que nous devons porter à notre clientèle. Nous devons être en parfait accord avec notre client, pour anticiper et répondre à toutes ses attentes. C’est délicat de savoir qui a envie d’échanger, qui souhaite qu’on le laisse tranquille… Parfois, il faut comprendre que la réserve d’une personne vient du fait qu’elle est intimidée : il suffit d’un mot pour la voir s’animer, sourire et profiter autrement de sa soirée ! Ainsi, il y a peu, un jeune couple se parlait en chuchotant : je suis allée à leur table et j’ai échangé avec eux à un volume sonore ordinaire, afin de les inciter à faire de même.

Notre métier, c’est non seulement de connaître les bons gestes, de savoir mettre des mots sur la cuisine de Niko, mais aussi d’avoir l’œil à tout, surtout ce que l’on a du mal à voir… » Au quotidien, elle compare son métier au théâtre, participant à un spectacle semi-improvisé qui change tous les jours… car tous les jours, les clients changent ! Un travail de funambule, tout en souplesse.

L’EXPERIENCE, LE MEILLEUR MOYEN D’APPRENDRE
Autodidacte et multitâche, elle n’en est que plus à même de transmettre ses compétences par l’exemple à son équipe : « C’est en formant notre personnel que j’ai compris la valeur de ce que j’avais appris, en passant toutes les étapes seule, par moi-même. Je peux mieux leur expliquer comment faire pour laver 1000 verres parce que je l’ai déjà fait ! L’expérience est le meilleur moyen pour apprendre. Il n’y a pas de tâche plus ou moins noble en hôtellerie : pour le bien-être de nos clients et la bonne marche de nos établissements, la polyvalence est indispensable, à tous les niveaux. »

De sa mère, professeur d’anglais, elle a peut-être conservé une grande pédagogie, mais bien plus encore, car pour les jeunes qu’elle forme : « je leur donne une âme, je leur donne tout pour qu’ils grandissent, mais cela nécessite de leur part une grande ouverture, une vraie volonté d’apprendre. Ici, je ne cherche pas des personnes interchangeables, comme des numéros, je cherche des âmes, de vraies personnes. »

 

UNE FEMME RESTAURATRICE

En 20 ans de métier, l’un de ses grands regrets est de n’avoir formé que trois autres femmes côté salle, faute de candidates. 

« La figure du maître d’hôtel, dans un restaurant étoilé, reste masculine dans l’imaginaire, à tort. Et puis le nom de ce métier demeure masculin, dans la langue elle-même, ce qui n’aide pas les femmes à se projeter dans ces fonctions ! »

D’où l’importance toute particulière que revêt pour elle le Prix Mauviel 1830 du Meilleur Directeur de Salle Les Grandes Tables du Monde. 

« C’est la reconnaissance de beaucoup de sacrifices, un grand honneur qui m’a procuré des émotions intenses, car il n’a pas toujours été facile en tant que femme de se faire une place dans ce métier. »

Elle se souvient encore des personnes ne prononçant même pas son prénom, se contentant de s’adresser à elle avec un laconique « ah, vous êtes la sœur ? » et elle de répondre, avec le sourire : « bonjour, je suis Cristiana Romito ».

S’il y a certes des sacrifices à faire (vacances, fêtes, horaires plus difficiles), ils sont pour elle compensés par de grandes satisfactions. Peu de femmes dans ce métier, car il reste un choix de vie, avec peu de modèles, sans oublier le cap de la maternité, « qui est aussi une responsabilité d’équipe et d’organisation, où il y a besoin de tous se coordonner, hommes et pères aussi évidemment ! »

Mais pour que les choses évoluent, Cristiana en appelle au « courage et à la curiosité » plutôt que de suivre les schémas traditionnels. « Il ne faut pas avoir peur d’avoir peur, et savoir sortir de sa zone de confort, car c’est comme cela qu’on grandit et qu’on trouve sa place » !

Pas étonnant que parmi les modèles féminins l’ayant inspirée figure en bonne place Audrey Hepburn, dont elle admire l’élégance discrète et la sincérité du style. Cristiana, par son travail acharné et la volonté de créer une maison à leur image, a su cultiver le courage élégant de l’affirmation de soi, mettant sa sensibilité au service des autres.


error: