Claire Bâcle

 

«The future of our business? Moving towards more benevolence, towards a more humane approach!»

As a teenager, Claire Bâcle chose the hotel and catering industry to stand up to her parents, an early intuition later confirmed by her years of training: this profession would become a passion.

Discipline, empathy, constant movement – all the ingredients that make up the beating heart of gastronomy – are character traits that perfectly describe the young dining room manager. And it’s those qualities that caught the eye of the industry and the magazine Le Chef, which recently named her Best maître d’hôtel for her work at the Anne de Bretagne restaurant.

Let’s take a look at her brilliant career.

© Anne-Emmanuelle Thion

What made you want to get into this business?

My parents absolutely wanted me to get a general baccalaureate, but I stood up to them and opted for a vocational course… I didn’t grow up in the habit of going out to eat, but I really liked the energy that emanated from restaurants. So that’s the direction I took. Along the way, I discovered a world I truly liked: fast-paced, humane, based on travels and wonderful encounters. I thought it was the right industry for me to blossom in and build an interesting career. 

Tell us about your career path.

I discovered the world of starred restaurants during an internship at Château de Germigney, in Jura in 2010. I was quite apprehensive but was quickly put at ease by Chef Pierre Basso Moro and his wonderful team. In fact, it was a revelation.

Claire Bâcle’s path :

  • 2010 : Higher National Diploma (brevet de technicien supérieur) internship at the restaurant of Château de Germigney.

  • 2012 : One-year vocational degree (licence professionelle) and internship at Hostellerie de Levernois.

  • 2014 : Seasonal work at the 1920 restaurant of Chalet du Mont d’Arbois.

  • December 2015 : Assistant maître d’hôtel at the 1920 restaurant of Chalet du Mont d’Arbois.

  • November 2016 : Maître d’hôtel at the Anne de Bretagne restaurant.

  • 2019 : Service award from Le Chef magazine.

With growing interest, I embarked on a one-year vocational degree (licence professionnelle) in Angers in 2012. During my internship at Hostellerie de Levernois, I met House Masters Mr and Mrs Bottigliero, who made a lasting impression on me with their management skills and kindness.

«Witnessing the kind of relationship they have with their clients and their team made me realise this was indeed what I wanted to do.»

I also came across Bernard Bruyer, the dining room manager who introduced me to new techniques. I was petrified cutting the poultry in the dining room for the first time, but I was quickly swept away by the unwavering culture of discipline and client care. 2014 marked the beginning of new adventures: seasonal work. I joined the 1920 restaurant at Chalet du Mont d’Arbois in Megève, working in a large brigade under the leadership of Olivier Alglave, a model of rigour and professionalism. At the time, he was preparing for the Meilleur Ouvrier de France competition and I witnessed the excitement and satisfaction this gave him. At his side, I trained in a new range of dining room cuts: sole, turbot, saddle of lamb, etc. for a more international, sometimes more demanding clientele. It was a challenge, particularly because it was my first time as headwaiter. At the end of 2015, Olivier offered me the position of assistant maître d’hôtel: I was a bit nervous but also flattered that he put his trust in me.

«I learned a lot during the first season… especially from my mistakes! In my second year, I realised how much I loved this job: I loved managing, being in contact with people and I was growing more and more comfortable.»

I realised that I can get involved in decision-making, defend my ideas and truly take part in the business’ evolution. In November 2016, I met Chef Mathieu Guibert for a position as assistant maître d’hôtel at Anne de Bretagne. I simply fell in love with this venue facing the ocean and the Loire estuary, but also with the chef’s benevolent philosophy, his desire to give everyone a chance, to all work together and enjoy it. Only issue, he was looking for a maître d’hôtel rather than an assistant. I let him know I hadn’t yet mastered all the required skills, but that I was willing to try if he were to help me along the way. It turns out we were a good match because it was his first time too, both as a chef and as a business leader! So we jumped into this experience together, bringing along Adrien Lavorel, our sommelier.

You grew up in a family of farmers, a profession closely intertwined with nature and its produces, but also with humans; did your background influence your practice?

It certainly did have an influence on me. I was lucky enough to grow up in the countryside, and it’s something I still value very much. The proximity with the ocean, its untamed wilderness are some of the aspects that most appealed to me at Anne de Bretagne. And behind every produce we use in the kitchen, there is a man or a woman. We make it a point to go and meet them, with our teams, to discover and learn more about their work; this helps us better understand the meaning of what we serve our clients. 
Another strong influence is my relationship to exertion. My parents have always shown full commitment to their farm, so hard work has never been a thing that scared me. Quite the opposite in fact. I couldn’t see myself doing it any other way, and I always thought I needed a job that would require complete dedication. This is a value I have often shared with the people I work with, like Chef Mathieu Guibert, who also grew up in a farm.

What is, in your opinion, the most important trait to blossom in this industry?

The most important thing is to love what you do, because these are very demanding professions.

«You have to get up every morning with enthusiasm and enjoy human contact. We are not machines, we all feel differently, so it’s important to listen: to yourself, to your clients and to the members of your team.»

My job doesn’t require me to stay until the end of the service, but my passion leads me to do so. It’s essential to have boundaries between your job, your passion and your personal life, and each must have its place. It’s something I witnessed with my parents: if you don’t set limits, you end up working endlessly. I think that’s why our jobs were shunned, because of the intense hours. But things are changing, especially because my generation is increasingly demanding better balance.

Can you tell us about your greatest challenges?

I would say the first was in Megève, when I took over as assistant maître d’hôtel. I had to be extremely demanding with myself, and serve as an example to my team because you simply can’t give up for their sake. Another huge challenge for me was when I joined Anne de Bretagne, in a position I had never held before. I was expected to commit myself fully, which was exciting of course, but I was also anxious I might disappoint, or not be a good fit. I’ve worked here for three years now, and yet sometimes, I still have doubts. But, with time, you learn to trust each other, to bounce higher and higher, faster and faster.

And your greatest pride?

Indulging our clients. I’m so happy when they praise the service, when I feel that the whole team is enjoying it too. There’s also the pride I see in the eyes of my parents, my family! When I told them I was going to work in the restaurant business, they didn’t understand how you could blossom in this industry. So when I see them coming to the restaurant today, filled with wonder, understanding that it is a rich and exciting place, or when I see my dad carefully collecting all the articles about my award, it’s such a powerful emotion. And of course, it was a great joy to even be nominated for the award from Le Chef magazine, so winning it… I couldn’t believe it!!

What are the ingredients for being a good maître d’hôtel?

Great patience, listening and of course discipline. I feel as though, based on my short three-year experience, you’re the driving force behind the team. It’s up to us to motivate everyone, to initiate new projects, to find what can bring everyone to evolve, and that’s what makes the team, and therefore the clients, happy. You also need a great deal of empathy: the first few minutes with a client are the most important! 

What do you expect from your team?

Commitment and motivation. I prefer working with someone who doesn’t yet know everything but is eager to learn. And of course the right attitude is essential, particularly being kind and benevolent.

The place of women in the catering industry is now being revalued, a sign of necessary change in mentalities on this matter. What do you think about this?

I’ve never encountered any issue in my career, but I’m happy to see that mentalities are in fact changing. Equity in a team is ideal; everyone can bring their strengths to the table, as it is the case here.

What do you see as future challenges for the industry?

The future of our business? Moving towards more benevolence, towards a more humane approach! Recruitment in the restaurant business is a major challenge, we must adapt to the needs of new generations; it is up to us to create roles that best meet their expectations.

«I think we also need to break down certain barriers, get closer to our clients, create a friendly environment, and make gastronomic restaurants more accessible, more caring. Businesses like ours must open up to others. At Anne de Bretagne, for example, we work with schools and organise activities to show that the world of gastronomy and its professions are open to anyone! That’s how you create new vocations!»

error:

Claire Bâcle

« Le futur de notre métier ? Aller vers de plus en plus de bienveillance, vers plus d’humain ! »

 

Si, adolescente, Claire Bâcle a choisi son orientation dans la filière hôtellerie-restauration pour contredire ses parents, ses années de formation ont finalement confirmé une intuition précoce : ce métier allait devenir une passion.

Rigueur, empathie, mouvement permanent, les ingrédients qui font le cœur battant de la gastronomie sont autant de traits de caractère que l’on retrouve chez la responsable de salle. Cela n’a d’ailleurs pas échappé à la profession et au magazine Le Chef qui l’a récemment nommée meilleure maître d’hôtel pour son travail au restaurant Anne de Bretagne.

Retour sur un itinéraire brillant.

 

© Anne-Emmanuelle Thion
Qu’est-ce qui vous a donné envie de vous faire ce métier ?

Mes parents souhaitaient absolument que j’obtienne un bac général, alors, pour leur tenir tête, j’ai emprunté une filière professionnelle… Nous n’avions pas du tout la culture du restaurant mais j’aimais l’énergie qui s’en dégageait. J’ai donc pris cette direction. En chemin, j’ai découvert un univers qui me plaisait : en mouvement, humain, fait de voyages et de rencontres merveilleuses. Je pourrai m’y accomplir et y construire une carrière intéressante.

Racontez-nous votre parcours.

J’ai découvert le monde des étoilés lors d’un stage au restaurant du Château de Germigney, dans le Jura en 2010. J’avais beaucoup d’appréhensions qui se sont vite envolées grâce au chef Pierre Basso Moro et à l’équipe formidables. Plus encore, ce fut une révélation.

Parcours de Claire Bâcle :

  • 2010 : Stage de BTS au restaurant du Château de Germigney.
  • 2012 : Licence professionnelle et stage à L’Hostellerie de Levernois. 
  • 2014 : Saisons au restaurant 1920 du Chalet du Mont d’Arbois. 
  • Décembre 2015 : Poste d’assistante maître d’hôtel au restaurant 1920 du Chalet du Mont d’Arbois. 
  • Novembre 2016 : Poste de maître d’hôtel au restaurant Anne de Bretagne. 
  • 2019 : Prix du service du magazine Le Chef.
Profitant de cet élan, j’entame une licence professionnelle à Angers en 2012. Pendant mon stage à L’Hostellerie de Levernois, je rencontre Monsieur et Madame Bottigliero, maîtres de maison mais surtout modèles de management et de gentillesse.

« Quand je vois la relation qu’ils entretiennent avec leurs clients comme avec leur équipe, je réalise que c’est vraiment ce que je veux faire. »

J’y croise également la route de Bernard Bruyer, directeur de salle, qui m’initie à de nouvelles techniques. Les premières découpes de volaille en salle me pétrifient, mais rapidement, le mélange de rigueur et de soin au client m’émerveille. 2014 marque le début de nouvelles aventures : les saisons. Je pars à Megève, au restaurant 1920 du Chalet du Mont d’Arbois, où je rejoins une grosse brigade sous la houlette d’Olivier Alglave, un exemple de rigueur et de professionnalisme. À l’époque, il prépare le concours du Meilleur Ouvrier de France et je remarque toute l’excitation et la satisfaction que cela lui procure. À ses côtés, je me forme à un nouveau panel de découpes en salle : sole, turbot, selle d’agneaux, etc. sous les yeux d’une clientèle plus internationale, parfois plus exigeante. C’est un challenge, surtout que c’est également la première fois que je suis cheffe de rang. Fin 2015, Olivier me propose le poste d’assistante maître d’hôtel : malgré le trac, je suis flattée par sa confiance. 

« La première saison, j’apprends énormément… surtout de mes erreurs ! Puis, la deuxième année, je réalise mon attachement à ce métier : j’aime manager, j’aime être au contact des gens et je gagne en aisance. »

Je comprends que je peux m’engager dans la prise de décision, défendre mes idées et participer à l’évolution de la maison. En novembre 2016, je rencontre le chef Mathieu Guibert pour un poste d’assistante maître d’hôtel à Anne de Bretagne. Je tombe totalement amoureuse de cette maison face à l’océan, face à l’estuaire de la Loire, mais aussi de la philosophie bienveillante du chef, de son envie de donner sa chance à tout le monde, de travailler tous ensemble et d’y prendre du plaisir. Seul bémol, le chef recherche une maître d’hôtel et non pas une assistante. Là, j’ai le cœur qui s’emballe, je lui explique que je n’ai peut-être pas encore toutes les compétences mais que je suis prête à tenter l’expérience, s’il veut bien m’accompagner. On tombe en adéquation, car lui aussi prend sa première place de chef, sa première place de chef d’entreprise ! On débute donc l’expérience ensemble, avec Adrien Lavorel, notre sommelier qui arrive en même temps.
Vous avez grandi dans une famille d’agriculteurs, un métier en lien à la nature et à ses produits, mais aussi à l’humain ; ces origines ont-elles influencé votre pratique ?

Cela m’a forcément influencée. J’ai eu la chance de pouvoir grandir en pleine nature et j’y suis très attachée. La proximité avec l’océan, cette nature totalement préservée est d’ailleurs un des aspects qui m’a beaucoup séduite chez Anne de Bretagne. Et puis derrière chaque produit utilisé en cuisine on retrouve un homme, une femme. Il est essentiel pour nous d’aller les rencontrer, avec nos équipes, et de découvrir leur travail ; cela nous permet de mieux comprendre le sens des assiettes.

L’autre influence est celle du rapport à l’effort. J’ai toujours vu mes parents s’investir totalement dans leur ferme, alors le travail ne m’a jamais effrayée. Au contraire même. Je me suis toujours dit que je ne me voyais pas faire autrement, qu’il me fallait un métier dans lequel je puisse mettre autant de dévouement. C’est d’ailleurs une valeur que j’ai souvent retrouvée chez les personnes avec lesquelles je collabore, comme le chef Mathieu Guibert, lui aussi fils d’agriculteurs.

Quelle est, selon vous, la principale qualité pour s’épanouir dans ce secteur ?

L’important c’est d’aimer ce qu’on fait, car ce sont des métiers très prenants et très exigeants.

« Il faut se lever tous les matins avec entrain et apprécier le contact humain. Nous ne sommes pas des machines, nos émotions sont différentes, alors il faut vraiment être à l’écoute : de soi, des clients et des membres de son équipe. »

Mon métier ne m’impose pas de rester jusqu’à la fin du service mais la passion m’y invite. Il faut bien faire la différence entre le métier, la passion et la vie personnelle, chaque élément doit avoir sa place. J’ai pu le constater avec mes parents : si on ne s’impose pas des limites, on ne s’arrête jamais. Je pense que c’est pour ça que nos métiers ont été boudés, à cause des horaires intenses. Mais les choses changent, notamment parce que ma génération revendique de plus en plus d’équilibre.
Quels ont été vos plus grands challenges ?

Le premier était à Megève, lors de ma prise de poste d’assistante maître d’hôtel. À mon tour, je devais m’imposer une nouvelle rigueur, être un exemple car on ne peut pas baisser les bras lorsqu’on porte une l’équipe. L’arrivée à Anne de Bretagne, à un poste que je n’avais jamais occupé, était un important défi aussi ! On attendait de moi que je m’implique totalement dans la maison, c’était excitant bien sûr, néanmoins j’avais aussi peur de décevoir, de ne pas convenir. Cela fait maintenant trois ans que j’y suis, et pourtant, je m’interroge encore. Mais, avec le temps, on apprend à se faire confiance, à rebondir toujours plus haut, plus vite.

Et votre plus grande fierté ?

Réussir à donner du plaisir aux clients. Quand ils parlent chaleureusement du service, quand je sens que toute l’équipe se régale aussi, là c’est le bonheur. Il y a aussi la fierté que je lis dans les yeux de mes parents, de ma famille ! Quand je leur ai dit que j’allais travailler dans la restauration, ils ne comprenaient pas comment on pouvait s’y épanouir. Alors quand je les vois aujourd’hui entrer dans le restaurant, émerveillés, comprenant que c’est un lieu riche et passionnant, ou encore quand je vois mon papa conserver précieusement les articles concernant mon prix, c’est très fort. Et évidemment pour le prix du magazine Le Chef, c’était déjà une grande joie d’être nommée, alors lauréate… !!!

Quels sont les ingrédients pour être une bonne maître d’hôtel ?

Beaucoup de patience, d’écoute et forcément de rigueur. J’ai l’impression, avec mes trois petites années de recul, qu’à ce poste on est moteur de l’équipe. C’est à nous de motiver tout le monde, à nous d’initier de nouveaux projets, à nous de trouver ce qui pourrait donner envie à chacun d’évoluer, et c’est cela qui permet de réjouir son équipe et donc ses clients. Il faut aussi beaucoup d’empathie : avec les clients, les premières minutes sont essentielles !

Qu’attendez-vous de votre équipe ?

De l’implication et de la motivation. Je préfère avoir quelqu’un qui manque de connaissances mais qui souhaite vraiment apprendre. Et bien sûr la bonne attitude, c’est-à-dire, beaucoup de bienveillance.

La place des femmes dans l’univers de la restauration est aujourd’hui revalorisée, signe d’une nécessaire évolution des mentalités à ce sujet. Qu’en pensez-vous ?

Je n’ai jamais eu de souci de toute ma carrière mais je suis heureuse de voir que les mentalités évoluent. L’équité dans une équipe est idéale, chacun peut apporter ses forces, on le voit d’ailleurs ici.

Quels sont les futurs défis du secteur d’après-vous ?

Aller vers de plus en plus de bienveillance, vers plus d’humain ! Le recrutement dans la restauration est un grand enjeu, il faut nous adapter aujourd’hui aux besoins des nouvelles générations ; c’est à nous de composer des postes qui répondent au mieux à leurs attentes.

« Je crois qu’il faut aussi casser certaines barrières, se rapprocher davantage du client, créer un espace chaleureux, rendre le grand restaurant plus accessible, plus bienveillant. Les maisons comme la nôtre doivent s’ouvrir aux autres. À Anne de Bretagne, par exemple, nous nous investissons auprès des écoles, nous organisons des activités pour montrer que l’univers de la gastronomie et les métiers qui en découlent sont accessibles ! C’est ainsi qu’on créera de nouvelles vocations ! »

error: