Douce Steiner

« We work with absolute respect for each other. And the results are there. »

Her first name suits her wonderfully: The gentleness of Douce Steiner, chef owner of Hotel Restaurant Hirschen, comes across immediately upon meeting her. But Germany’s only two-starred female chef has many other qualities: deeply human and optimistic, empathetic and attentive to others, tenacious, humble and determined, Douce Steiner is a very daring woman. And while her cuisine remains faithful to traditional French gastronomy, the way she runs the family business and envisions the restaurant of tomorrow is resolutely modern.

“Fine dining and drinking is my heritage, a need, an education.”

Douce Steiner grew up in her father Hans-Paul Steiner’s restaurant: Hotel Restaurant Hirschen, located in the small Black Forest town of Sulzburg. At the age of eight, she already knew she wanted to be a cook. Despite her passion for dance and art, she dropped out of school at 16 and jumped into a six-week internship in the family establishment. The young apprentice was willing to handle any task, even the most menial, disputing any perks her last name may bring. It was love at first sight, Douce had found her calling and means of expression: She would become a chef.

Openness to others and to the world is also part of the family heritage. When they aren’t working, the Steiner family visit Michelin-starred restaurants and, every year, for Hans-Paul’s birthday, they all meet at Georges Blanc.

Douce had always dreamt of working in France. So, after a two-month solo-backpacking trip to Mexico, she completed her apprenticeship at Georges Blanc, where the staff welcomed her with open arms despite her young age (she was only 19 at the time), her gender (she was the only woman among 45 cooks), and her nationality (a German living in France in 1990 was still an oddity).

Douce Steiner’s background :

  • 1988: Language school in Oxford
  • 1989: Apprenticeship in the family restaurant
  • 1991: Cook at Georges Blanc
  • 1992-1994: Worked with Chef Schilling at Schweizer Stuben
  • 1994-1996: Traube Tonbach
  • 1997-1999: Master’s degree in Hotel Management in Germany
  • 1999: Birth of her daughter Justine-Léone and return to Hotel Restaurant Hirschen
  • 2008: Took over the family business
  • 2009: Lost her 2nd Michelin star
  • 2012: Regained her 2nd Michelin star

A woman in gastronomy

Douce Steiner has experienced the hardship of the trade, and the struggle of being a woman in a world reserved for men. Misogyny, mockery, violence, moral and sexual harassment: She knows first-hand what women must sometimes endure to make their mark in the world of gastronomy.

Yet Douce kept going. She learned the most precise baking techniques under Chef Detain. To this day, she still provides her guests with typical French petits-fours and mignardises in her restaurant.

Before joining the renowned Traube Tonbach, and then her family restaurant, Douce returned to Germany and worked at Schweizer Stuben under Chef Schilling, whose French cuisine with Mediterranean notes truly won her over. Incredibly precise cooking with herbs and spices, emphasis on good produces, and above all, a small-scale restaurant with just 30 seats and a small team of 12 people. Douce absolutely loved this format, and vowed to make it hers.

Modern and responsive management

“I don’t have to shout all day to be heard. The stress and frenzy of the service has never been a driving force for me. We work with absolute respect for each other. And the results are there.”

The Steiner family is very tight-knit, with deep respect for one another: respect for desires, respect for choices, respect for rhythm.

Douce’s husband, Chef Udo Weiler, works alongside her, as do their 22-year-old daughter, Justine-Léone, who is an apprentice, and even her parents, Hans-Paul and Claude, who live on the first floor of the establishment and remain involved in the life of the house. All of this in great harmony. 

Very naturally, Douce applies this life philosophy to her hotel restaurant. The 20 people in her team are attentive to each other and always willing to help. This is absolutely key. The qualities in each of them make up a harmonious whole. Keen to ensure the well-being of her staff, she has always been careful to adjust her management style and be in keeping with the evolution of society as well as the aspirations of younger generations.

So when her chef Florian, a young father, announced his resignation to spend more time with his family, Douce pressed for an organisational change: He would go home at 6pm every day. Despite some initial doubts, the experiment worked out just fine. Florian, like the rest of the team, was very happy.

Emboldened by this success, Douce decided to go even further: Instead of the traditional Sunday-Monday-Tuesday rest period, she offered her chef a break from Saturday to Monday. With the help of apprentices – to whom she wants to pass on the best -, Florian can be alone in the restaurant’s closed kitchens on Tuesdays, preparing the next day’s set-up. Once again, it proved a success. “If everything is well prepared, the whole team doesn’t need to be present during the service. Besides, it’s more fluid when there are fewer of us. So why hang on to old systems?”

The gastronomy of tomorrow?

“Gastronomy has lost attractiveness. Nobody wants to work 16 to 18 hours a day anymore. We are not machines. We must reinvent ourselves to attract the talents of tomorrow.”

Douce is very sensitive to the vibrations of the world, and talks a lot with her daughter. Since she took over the Hotel Restaurant Hirschen in 2008, she has not once tried to expand, focusing on quality rather than quantity. She invests mainly in the upkeep of her establishment and the treatment of her staff, who enjoy good working conditions and pay. The holidays have been extended, there is no longer a menu of the day, but the dishes remain tightly connected to the seasons, to nature, without butter or cream. There was a slight increase in prices, “gently so as not to offend anyone. We must not be afraid that guests turn away from us. Of course, we may lose some of them, but we will meet others”.

When the chef eventually decided to close her restaurant on New Year’s Eve so that her staff, too, can enjoy the festive season, the reservation book was already full. Douce wrote personally to each guest who had made a reservation: All were disappointed, but they all understood. Douce is bold, and more often than not, it works.

 

The Hirschen restaurant will soon introduce a new brand concept with only one service per day. This will allow guests to take their time, and the staff to take care of them properly. The concept is still being fine-tuned before it is officially announced.
If it works out, if guests are on board, Douce will repeat the experience in November, and then again on a regular basis. “I always take my time, I’ve done everything slowly but well.”

Douce is daring once again. What if it works?
In the meantime, the chef continues to reflect, observe and exchange ideas, as she does with Culinary Ladies (https://www.culinary-ladies.de/), but also with journalists and other chefs, with whom she wants to build an even closer relationship. “It would be nice if all stakeholders in gastronomy worked more closely together, exchanging information on prices for instance, and on many other topics. Everyone keeps to themselves a little too much, and I believe it is essential to give women a greater say. They have a different approach, perhaps a less pretentious one.”

error:

Douce Steiner

« Nous travaillons dans le respect absolu des uns et des autres. Et les résultats sont au rendez-vous. »

Certes son prénom lui va merveilleusement bien : la douceur de Douce Steiner, cheffe-propriétaire de l’Hotel Restaurant Hirschen est palpable, dès les premiers mots. Mais il ne faudrait surtout pas la réduire à cette qualité car la seule cheffe doublement étoilée d’Allemagne en a bien d’autres : profondément humaine et optimiste, empathique et attentive aux autres, tenace, humble, déterminée, Douce Steiner ose. Si sa cuisine demeure fidèle à la gastronomie traditionnelle française, sa façon de diriger la maison familiale et d’envisager le restaurant de demain est résolument moderne.

« Bien manger, bien boire, c’est mon héritage, un besoin, une éducation. »

Douce Steiner a grandi dans le restaurant de son père Hans-Paul Steiner : l’hôtel restaurant Hirschen dans la petite ville de Sulzburg, en bordure de la Forêt-Noire. À 8 ans, elle veut déjà être cuisinière. Malgré son goût pour la danse et l’art, elle arrête l’école à 16 ans et fait un stage de six semaines dans la maison familiale, non pas en tant que « fille de », plutôt comme une très jeune apprentie qui touche à toutes les tâches, même les plus ingrates. Coup de foudre, Douce a trouvé sa vocation et son moyen d’expression : elle sera cheffe.

L’ouverture aux autres, l’ouverture au monde fait également partie de l’héritage familial. Quand ils ne travaillent pas, les Steiner écument les tables étoilées et, chaque année, pour l’anniversaire de Hans-Paul, ils se rendent chez Georges Blanc.
Douce rêve de faire carrière en France, alors, après un voyage de plus de deux mois au Mexique en solitaire (et en sac à dos !), elle complète son apprentissage chez Georges Blanc qui l’accueille les bras ouverts malgré son jeune âge (elle n’a que 19 ans), malgré son sexe (elle est la seule femme parmi quarante-cinq cuisiniers) et malgré sa nationalité (être allemande en France en 1990 est encore une singularité qu’il faut courageusement assumer).

Parcours de Douce Steiner :

  • 1988 : École de langue à Oxford
  • 1989 : Apprentissage au restaurant familial
  • 1991 : Cuisinière chez Georges Blanc
  • 1992-1994 : Travaille auprès du Chef Schilling au Schweizer Stuben
  • 1994-1996 : Traube Tonbach
  • 1997-1999 : Master en école hôtelière en Allemagne
  • 1999 : Naissance de sa fille Justine-Léone et retour à l’Hotel restaurant Hirschen
  • 2008 : Reprise de la maison familiale
  • 2009 : Perte de la 2é étoile Michelin
  • 2012 : Récupération de la 2é étoile Michelin

Une femme en gastronomie

La difficulté du métier, la difficulté d’être une femme dans un monde réservé aux hommes, Douce Steiner l’a éprouvée. Misogynie, railleries, violences, harcèlement moral et sexuel, elle sait dans sa chair les épreuves que les femmes doivent parfois endurer pour apprendre les métiers de la gastronomie.

Pourtant, Douce a persévéré. En pâtisserie sous les ordres du chef Detain, elle travaille à tous les postes et intègre les techniques les plus précises. D’ailleurs, encore aujourd’hui, elle est heureuse de proposer dans son restaurant des petits fours et mignardises typiquement français dont ses clients raffolent.

Avant de rejoindre les équipes du renommé Traube Tonbach, puis le restaurant familial, Douce retourne en Allemagne et travaille au Schweizer Stuben auprès du chef Schilling dont la cuisine française aux accents méditerranéens la séduit. Cuisson à la minute, utilisation d’herbes et d’épices, goût du bon produit et surtout un restaurant de trente couverts avec une petite équipe de douze personnes. Douce est convaincue par ce format, ça sera le sien.

Un management moderne et à l’écoute

« Je n’ai pas besoin de crier toute la journée pour être écoutée. Le stress du service n’a jamais été un moteur pour moi, nous travaillons dans le respect absolu des uns et des autres. Et les résultats sont au rendez-vous. »

La famille Steiner est très unie, chacun a toujours respecté l’autre : respect des envies, respect des choix, respect du rythme.

Le mari de Douce, le chef Udo Weiler, l’accompagne, tout comme leur fille de 22 ans, Justine-Léone, en apprentissage et même ses parents, Hans-Paul et Claude qui vivent au premier étage continuent de participer régulièrement à la vie de la maison. Tout cela dans une grande harmonie. 

Naturellement, Douce applique cette philosophie de vie à son hôtel-restaurant. Les vingt personnes de son équipe sont attentives à l’autre, s’entraident volontiers. C’est primordial. Les qualités de chacun forment un tout harmonieux. La réflexion autour d’un management au plus près des évolutions de la société, des aspirations des jeunes générations a toujours été une préoccupation centrale pour la cheffe qui tient au bien-être de son personnel.

Ainsi quand son chef Florian, jeune père, vient lui annoncer sa démission pour passer plus de temps avec sa famille, Douce impose une nouvelle organisation : il rentrera tous les soirs à 18 heures chez lui. Malgré les quelques doutes du début, l’expérience fonctionne. Florian comme le reste de l’équipe est heureux.

Forte de cet essai réussi, Douce va très vite plus loin : aux traditionnels congés dimanche-lundi-mardi, elle propose à son chef un repos du samedi au lundi. Grâce aux apprentis à qui elle tient à transmettre le meilleur, Florian sera seul dans les cuisines fermées du restaurant le mardi, préparant la mise en place du lendemain. Encore une fois, c’est un succès. « Si tout est bien préparé, l’équipe n’a pas besoin d’être présente au complet pendant le service. D’ailleurs, c’est plus fluide quand nous sommes moins nombreux. Alors pourquoi rester accroché à de vieux systèmes ? »

La gastronomie de demain ?

« La gastronomie s’est endormie. Plus personne ne veut travailler 16 à 18 heures par jour. Nous ne sommes pas des machines. Il faut se réinventer pour attirer les talents de demain. »

Douce reste sensible aux vibrations du monde, discute beaucoup avec sa fille entre autres. Depuis qu’elle est à la tête de l’hôtel restaurant Hirschen (en 2008), elle n’a jamais voulu s’agrandir, cherchant davantage la qualité que la quantité. Ses investissements, elle les consacre essentiellement à l’entretien de sa maison et au traitement de son personnel, bien traité et bien payé. Les congés se sont donc étendus, plus de menu du jour mais une proposition toujours aussi proche des saisons, de la nature, sans beurre et sans crème. Une légère augmentation des prix, « en douceur pour ne heurter personne. Il faut arrêter d’avoir peur que les clients nous abandonnent. Bien sûr, nous en perdrons peut-être certains, mais nous en rencontrerons d’autres. »

Quand la cheffe décide finalement de fermer son restaurant à la Saint-Sylvestre pour que son personnel, aussi, puisse profite des fêtes de fin d’année, le cahier de réservations est déjà plein. Qu’à cela ne tienne, Douce écrit personnellement à chaque client ayant réservé : tous ont été déçus, mais tous ont compris. Douce ose et ça marche.

 

Dans la continuité de cette réflexion, le restaurant Hirschen inaugurera bientôt un nouveau concept avec un seul service par jour. Le client pourra ainsi prendre tout son temps et l’équipe du restaurant aura tout loisir de s’occuper de lui comme il se doit. La proposition est encore à peaufiner avant d’être annoncée.
Si cela fonctionne, si les clients sont au rendez-vous, Douce réitèrera l’expérience en novembre, puis encore et encore, « j’ai toujours laissé du temps à tout, j’ai tout fait doucement mais bien. »
Douce ose encore, et si ça marchait ?
En attendant, la cheffe continue de réfléchir, d’observer, d’échanger comme avec Culinary Ladies, mais aussi avec des journalistes, ou encore avec d’autres chefs et cheffes dont elle a d’ailleurs toujours envie de se rapprocher. « Il faudrait que les acteurs de la gastronomie mondial travaillent plus main dans la main, échangent sur les prix exercés par exemple et sur bien d’autres sujets. Mais chacun reste dans son coin, donner davantage la parole aux femmes est essentiel. Elles ont une approche différente, peut-être moins prétentieuse. »

error: