Laurence Rigolet

« You can only do this job with passion, you have to enjoy it. We are happiness merchants. »

Always friendly and energetic, Laurence Rigolet is joyfully celebrating the 95th anniversary of her family restaurant Comme Chez Soi, located in the heart of Brussels. Together with her husband, Chef Lionel Rigolet, she is the fourth generation to run this institution, which opened in 1926. In fact, the fifth generation is stepping up as well, as their son Loïc already works in the kitchen and is passionate about sommellerie! While Laurence is quick to express her admiration for her husband, her parents, her children and the entire team, she is a lot more humble and discreet when it comes to talking about herself, her career, her convictions and desires. Encounter with a woman of character, who has gastronomy in her genes.

A family affair

You can’t talk about Laurence Rigolet’s vocation without taking a close look at her lineage. She is the daughter of Chef Pierre Wynants, a key figure in Belgian gastronomy, who received his third Michelin star in 1979 for his work at her grandfather’s restaurant, Comme Chez Soi. “At the time, Dad was the equivalent of Paul Bocuse in Belgium.”

Marie-Thérèse and Pierre Wynants, like their elders, devoted their lives to this establishment located in the centre of Brussels. Working at the restaurant early in the morning, late in the evening, serving a loyal and demanding clientele and offering a very high level of cuisine – a life focused on others, but always together. For the Wynants, family is everything. Working together as a family has been a core value for four generations: the men are in the kitchen, and women in the dining room. However, when teenage Laurence also decided to pursue a career in the restaurant business, she left her parents stunned. The memory is still vivid in her mind: “I wanted to become an architect, and then, one Sunday evening, I just told my parents that I wanted to go to hotel school. They almost fell off their chairs and warned me of the demands and pressure in this profession. But I was conscious of it all, I had seen what the daily life of a restaurant owner was like since I was a child”.

Laurence Rigolet’s background:

  • 1985: Enters the hotel school in Namur
  • 1989: Joins the Comme Chez Soi team
  • 1994: Marries Lionel Rigolet
  • 1996: Birth of her daughter, Jessica
  • 1998: Birth of her son, Loïc
  • 2006: Takes over the family business, which loses its 3rd Michelin star while Lionel is named Chef of the Year by Gault & Millau
  • 2009: Launch of the “Riwyne” concept in the wine cellar
  • 2021: Comme Chez Soi celebrates its 95th anniversary

A challenging learning experience

Laurence was only 15 years old when she entered hotel school in Namur. The break from her family environment was very sudden. She shared a studio with a friend, but it was her first few months of apprenticeship that would forever shape her strong-willed, demanding and assertive character: “I had no experience and the teachers were particularly hard on me. For example, I remember when a teacher had me face everyone in class and asked me if my father made the same mistakes as me in his famous restaurant. There were many humiliations just like that one. I kept coming back home in tears, until the day I summoned up the courage to stand up for myself and remind the teaching staff that if I already knew everything, if I had my parents’ skills and knowledge, then I wouldn’t even need to attend this school! I was there to learn, to learn my trade, just like all the other students”. From that moment on, Laurence asserted herself. And while she was proud of where she comes from, she was not content with her status as a chef’s daughter and worked hard to be recognised for her own merits. These years spent at the hotel school imparted her with impeccable know-how, and led her to meet her future husband: Chef Lionel Rigolet.

A smooth transition

With school behind her, it was only natural that Laurence joined her parents at Comme Chez Soi. She brought some of the skills learnt, such as computer processing for the wine list, and continued her apprenticeship in the dining room alongside her mother, while Lionel honed his skills in the kitchen alongside Chef Pierre Wynants. Following his own studies in Namur, Lionel Rigolet trained with Joël Robuchon, Gaston Lenôtre and Marc Haeberlin. For about ten years, the family worked together with great mutual respect. Laurence and Lionel gradually became involved in running all aspects of the gastronomic restaurant. Marie-Thérèse and Pierre, on the other hand, slowly began to step aside and support their children in their new role as parents: Jessica was born in 1996, and Loïc in 1998. Laurence was able to find a balance between professional and family life due to precious help from her mother and aunt. As for all women, and especially women working in the gastronomy industry, managing family life and work life takes great energy. Something Laurence has plenty of, along with relentless perseverance. In 2006, the Wynants couple officially handed over the reins of the restaurant to Laurence and Lionel, who was named Chef of the Year by Gault & Millau. However, that same year, Comme Chez Soi lost its 3rd Michelin star… This was a hard blow for the young couple: “It was a difficult time for us. We were a bit lost, but with our passion and will still intact, we managed to get through this tough period, to question ourselves and grow from this experience.”

“Pressure is part of the job, part of our daily life, and we have become accustomed to it. It no longer prevents us from sleeping, on the contrary, we are so happy to be back at it after such a long lockdown.”

A careful balance between tradition and modernity

When asked about the secret of Comme Chez Soi’s longevity, Pierre Wynants answers with no hesitation: “Strong women! It’s not just an elegant statement, it is obvious on a daily basis. As proof, no detail escapes Laurence: “I check absolutely everything. A gastronomic restaurant is 50% what’s in the plate, and 50% the dining room and service.

After 95 years, the difficulty lies in preserving a substantial gastronomic heritage while remaining somewhat fresh and up to date. “Some very loyal customers already know what they’ll order when they book a table, so it is important to keep the classics on the menu. But we must also keep evolving. Lionel has found his place and his own direction. His singular cuisine, based on produce and spices, integrates a specificity of the establishment: the use of sauces. And while it’s important to not jump on every passing trend, adapting to the expectations and desires of an ever-changing and now international clientele is a priority for any establishment. Modernising a great classic by changing how it is served for instance can bring it back to the forefront in the age of social media and the all-screen world. Nothing is set in stone, and risk-taking is permanent.

Loyal teams

“The team, the brigade, is absolutely essential. It is like a second family. We can’t achieve anything without them. And what a thrill it was to work together again and feel the complicity after all these months of lockdown! We were all so happy to get together again and reopen the restaurant!”

 

At Comme Chez Soi, respect is paramount, between men and women, between the kitchen and the dining room, between young and old – it is everywhere. And while making mistakes is only human, lack of communication and disrespect are the two things that aren’t tolerated among the 23 staff members. It’s all a matter of balance: closing times have been adapted to allow everyone more time to breathe, and no sexism or ill-treatment is accepted. A healthy management style that bears fruit because the team is loyal above all else. The valet, for example, is celebrating 32 years at the establishment this year. The workforce is still predominantly male, due to a lack of female candidates, but Laurence is delighted to have recently welcomed a young woman among the dining room staff: “She has a strong character, which is essential for a woman working in a male environment, even if I can only support the recent movement towards feminisation of our professions. Women still have to fight harder to make a place for themselves and succeed”.

error:

Laurence Rigolet

« On ne peut exercer ce métier qu’avec passion, il faut impérativement y prendre du plaisir. Nous sommes des marchands de bonheur. »

Affable et énergique, Laurence Rigolet fête joyeusement cette année les 95 ans du restaurant familial Comme chez Soi situé en plein cœur de Bruxelles. Elle incarne, avec son mari le chef Lionel Rigolet, la quatrième génération à la tête de cette institution bruxelloise ouverte en 1926. La cinquième génération est même en route avec leur fils, Loïc qui officie déjà en cuisine et se passionne pour la sommellerie ! Si Laurence exprime volontiers son admiration pour son mari, ses parents, ses enfants ou encore son équipe, c’est avec beaucoup d’humilité et de discrétion qu’elle parle d’elle, de son parcours, de ses convictions, de ses envies. Rencontre avec une femme de caractère, une femme qui porte dans ses gènes la passion de la gastronomie.

Une histoire de famille

Impossible d’aborder la vocation de Laurence Rigolet sans en préciser les contours. Elle est la fille du chef Pierre Wynants, figure de la gastronomie belge, qui offre en 1979 la troisième étoile Michelin au restaurant de son grand-père, Comme chez Soi. « À l’époque, papa était l’équivalent de Paul Bocuse en Belgique. »

Marie-Thérèse et Pierre Wynants, tout comme leurs aïeux, ont donc consacré leur vie à cette maison du centre-ville de Bruxelles. Le restaurant tôt le matin, le restaurant tard le soir, un service toujours particulièrement attentif à une clientèle fidèle et exigeante, une cuisine de haut niveau – une vie tournée vers l’autre, certes, mais toujours ensemble. Chez les Wynants, la famille est centrale. Plus précisément, le travail en famille est une valeur primordiale et ce depuis quatre générations les hommes sont en cuisine, les femmes en salle. Pourtant, quand l’adolescente décide d’emprunter à son tour le chemin de la restauration, c’est la stupéfaction. Le souvenir est encore très ancré chez Laurence : « J’avais envie de devenir architecte, et puis, un dimanche soir, j’ai annoncé tout de go à mes parents que je voulais faire l’école hôtelière. Ils sont tombés de leur chaise et m’ont tout de suite avertie des nombreuses contraintes de ce métier. En même temps, je n’avais pas besoin de beaucoup d’explications, je voyais depuis mon enfance à quoi ressemblait le quotidien des restaurateurs. »

Parcours de Laurence Rigolet :

  • 1985 : Entrée à l’école hôtelière de Namur
  • 1989 : Intègre l’équipe du Comme chez Soi
  • 1994 : Mariage avec Lionel Rigolet
  • 1996 : Naissance de sa fille, Jessica
  • 1998 : Naissance de son fils, Loïc
  • 2006 : Reprise de la maison familiale ; perte de la 3è étoile Michelin alors que Lionel est nommé chef de l’année au Gault & Millau
  • 2009 : Ouverture du concept « Riwyne » dans la cave à vin
  • 2021 : Comme chez Soi fête ses 95 ans

Un apprentissage éprouvant

Laurence n’a que 15 ans quand elle intègre l’école hôtelière de Namur. La rupture avec le cocon familial est violente. Elle partage avec une amie un studio au confort sommaire mais c’est surtout ses premiers mois d’apprentissage qui forgeront à jamais le caractère volontaire, exigeant et affirmé de la jeune fille : « Je n’avais aucune expérience et les professeurs ont été particulièrement durs avec moi. Par exemple, je me souviens très bien du jour où un enseignant m’a reprise devant tous les élèves en me demandant si mon père faisait les mêmes erreurs que moi dans son grand restaurant. Des humiliations de ce genre, il y en a eu d’autres. Je rentrais chez mes parents en larmes jusqu’à ce que j’ose remettre le corps enseignant à sa place en lui rappelant que si j’avais déjà tout su, si j’avais les connaissances de mes parents, je n’aurais pas eu besoin de faire cette école ! J’étais bel et bien là pour apprendre, pour apprendre mon métier, exactement comme les autres élèves. » À partir de ce moment, Laurence s’affirme. Fière de ses origines, elle ne se contente pas d’être « une fille de », elle veut s’imposer avec ses propres qualités. Ces années passées à l’école hôtelière lui ont permis non seulement de rejoindre le restaurant familial dotée d’un savoir-faire irréprochable, mais aussi de rencontrer son futur mari : le chef Lionel Rigolet.

Une transition progressive

À la sortie de l’école, c’est tout naturellement que Laurence rejoint ses parents à Comme chez Soi. Elle y apporte ce que ses études lui ont enseigné, comme le traitement informatique de la carte des vins et poursuit son apprentissage en salle aux côtés de sa mère, tandis que Lionel solidifie le sien, en cuisine, auprès du chef Pierre Wynants. Après l’école hôtelière de Namur, Lionel Rigolet est en effet parti se former chez Joël Robuchon, Gaston Lenôtre ou encore auprès de Marc Haeberlin. Pendant une dizaine d’années, la famille travaille beaucoup, dans un grand respect mutuel. Laurence et Lionel intègrent progressivement tous les rouages du fonctionnement du restaurant gastronomique. Marie-Thérèse et Pierre, quant à eux, commencent à s’effacer, doucement, et soutiennent leurs enfants dans leur nouveau rôle de parents : Jessica est née en 1996 et Loïc en 1998. C’est grâce à la présence de sa mère et de sa tante – toujours une histoire de femmes – que Laurence parvient à trouver l’équilibre entre vie professionnelle et vie familiale. Comme pour toutes les femmes, et particulièrement les femmes qui travaillent dans la gastronomie, cette double vie demande une énergie folle. De l’énergie et de la persévérance, Laurence n’en manque pas. En 2006, le couple Wynants laisse officiellement les rênes du restaurant à Laurence et Lionel, nommé d’ailleurs chef de l’année au Gault & Millau. Pourtant, cette même année, le guide Michelin retire au Comme chez Soi sa troisième étoile. Une dure épreuve pour le jeune couple : « Ce fut un moment très compliqué pour nous. Nous étions un peu perdus, mais avec notre passion du métier et notre volonté, nous avons réussi à traverser cette période, à nous remettre en question et finalement à en sortir grandi. »

« La pression fait partie du métier, de notre quotidien, nous nous y sommes adaptés. Elle ne nous empêche plus de dormir, au contraire même, nous sommes si heureux de la retrouver après cette longue période de fermeture. »

Un équilibre entre tradition et modernité

À la question du secret de longévité de Comme chez Soi, Pierre Wynants répond sans hésitation : « Des femmes fortes ! » Au-delà de l’élégance de la formule, force est de constater qu’elle est vraie. Pour preuve, aucun détail n’échappe à Laurence : « Je vérifie absolument tout. Le restaurant gastronomique, c’est 50% l’assiette, 50% la salle et l’accueil. »

En quatre-vingt-quinze ans de cuisine, la difficulté est de préserver un patrimoine gastronomique conséquent tout en restant dans l’air du temps. « Certains clients très fidèles savent déjà ce qu’ils vont manger en réservant leur table, il est donc important de garder les classiques à la carte. Mais il faut évoluer, obligatoirement. Lionel a su trouver sa place et sa propre direction. Sa cuisine, singulière, basée sur le produit et les épices, a également intégré une particularité de la maison : le travail des sauces. » Et s’il convient de rester prudent face aux sirènes des modes passagères, s’adapter aux attentes et aux désirs d’une clientèle mouvante et désormais internationale est une évidence. Modifier le dressage d’un grand classique peut parfois suffire à le moderniser, à le remettre en avant, particulièrement à l’heure des réseaux sociaux et du tout écran. Rien n’est immuable, la prise de risque est permanente.

Des équipes fidèles

« L’équipe, la brigade, est absolument essentielle. C’est une seconde famille. Rien ne peut se faire sans elle. Et quelle émotion de ressentir à nouveau une telle complicité après ces mois de fermeture ! Nous étions tous si heureux de nous retrouver, de rouvrir le restaurant ensemble ! »

 

Chez Comme chez Soi, le respect n’est pas seulement entre les hommes et les femmes, entre la cuisine et la salle, entre les jeunes et les plus anciens, il est partout. Si, bien sûr, l’erreur est humaine, beaucoup peut être pardonné aux 23 salariés sauf le manque de communication et l’irrespect. Tout est question d’équilibre : les fermetures ont été adaptées pour réduire la cadence et permettre à tous de respirer davantage, aucun sexisme ou maltraitance ne serait accepté. Un management sain qui porte ses fruits car l’équipe est fidèle. Le voiturier, par exemple, fête cette année ses trente-deux ans de maison. Les effectifs restent à majorité masculine, faute de candidates, mais Laurence se réjouit d’avoir accueilli récemment une jeune femme en salle, « elle a un fort caractère, c’est une qualité essentielle pour une femme qui travaille dans un milieu d’hommes – comme la gastronomie, même si je ne peux qu’encourager le récent mouvement de féminisation de nos métiers. Les femmes doivent encore se battre davantage pour se faire une place, pour réussir. »

error: